Can't Take It Off Choke

Michael Cardamone

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
So... This kinda feels like AA, "Hi My name is Mike and I have a problem." JK. But in all seriousness, I'm hoping a few kindhearted Journeymen XS-folk can lend me some knowledge.

Experience level: Noob, like total, complete noob...
Bike: 1981 Yamaha XS400HS
BLUF: basically, bought diamond in the really rough and wish to get it working... Again

Background: Had it sit for some time during my moves across the Northeast (covered at all times with preservative in the fuel. I'm no dummy!), had my friend ride it when I bought it and rode it for about 30-40 miles until it decided to quit in downtown Rhode Island last summer (but was having a blast beforehand!). At the time I managed to choke it all the way out and limp back home. That was this past summer, now fast forward to now (November of 2023) and I've got the sudden inspiration after another move to get it working.

Problem 1: I kick start it to life with the choke all the way out. let it run for about 30 secs and then push in the choke halfway, anndddd it stalled... it does this every time without fail. Now I'm assuming you start it this way, I was given a crash course by the previous owner so it's basically his word that I am abiding by.

Problem 2: I hit the electrical starter, and it goes "click click click click" like its shorting out somewhere. The wiring harness looks right f***ed so I'm assuming it a poor connection or a broken wire somewhere (I suspect it's around the steering column because when I turn from left to right a few times while holding the starter button it can sometimes work)

Problem 3: Exhaust leak at the outlet of the cylinder, I tightened up everything farm boy tight since I don't have a rachet set nimble enough to get behind the frame. that seems to have been sorted as of tonight after letting things heat up and expand/ fit together but will probably return in due time.