Newbie with a vibration issue?

onerider

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to the motorcycling world and recently picked up my first bike a 1980 XS400!!! The motorcycle bug first bit me when my extremely nice cousin let me ride (after a bit of begging of course) his brand new yamaha yz125 dirt bike, right away I knew this was a sport for me. So after scouring through tons of classifieds I came across this beauty and for a whopping $100 dollars I took it home:D:D:D Then over the next few weeks I worked on getting it running. After multiple thread surfing sessions and carb cleanings she breathed her first breath of life in over 15 years! Since then I have given her a nice tuneup (valve adjustment, oil change, fuel filter, new chain, tires, and brake shoes) and it has really been a blast riding in this nice summer weather. Now the bad news, recently I noticed that it has a pretty bad vibration problem like foot/hand numbing and mirror blurring bad. Now it may have had it all along but I only noticed it recently. It starts at around 4k rpm and just gets worse the more the needle climbs. I tried to locate the source of the vibrations by cutting off the engine and pulling in the clutch at highway speeds (when most prevalent) and the ride is glass smooth so it must be from the engine. I checked the engine mounts and the rubber mounts seem to be good with the right orientation (I believe drewpy once had a problem with that) and tight. I then proceeded to check any gears that I could easily get to for play. I checked the alternator by wriggling my finger through the timing hole and then checked the clutch basket gear through the oil dipstick hole and to my surprise I noticed it does indeed have some play (around 2-3mm). So I guess my question is that normal??? and what else if not that can be the source of this vibration. Thanks in advance.

PS: I know how much you guys like pics but my camera has been giving me a hard time about working recently:laugh: