WTF! I hate electricity!

Robsteeler66

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
So I had this problem. Dead battery...So I bought a new one.

I decided to try the starter and see if it would now turn over...Nothing. :shrug:

I then tried the lights, horn, signals...Nothing. :wtf:

Checked out the fuse box...I'm no expert, but this looks wrong...

Besides the obvious, I see what looks like a splice in the corner...

:banghead: Anyone have a next step? I'm going mental! :mad:

+1 on the blade fuse box upgrade.

One of the best upgrades you can do for the electrics and cheap. Soldering beats the old crimping method hands down. Your bikes electrics will be so much more reliable and rock solid. When you think about your whole bikes electrics revolve around the fuse box so its pretty important to have good connections there.

I put in a cheap 4 blade mini box and its like a new bike now :) Heres the one I put in, really easy to find a mounting spot for it cause its so small. And you will find these on the shelf at your local auto parts store pretty cheap. Heres one on ebay exactly the same as I got:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-Way-Mi...46?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts&hash=item2a1badda92

Thanks guys. I was leaning toward the copies, because they come with the plug in harness. I've never tried soldering before. I guess I could watch it few times on youtube or something. It really makes a difference going from the glass fuses?

Soldering just tales a steady hand,good eyes and heat up the surface you plan to solder.Get you solder on the tip of the gun and get it to flow down around the tip of the wrire that you are soldering.Just pratice in soldering some wires together till you get the hang of it.