XS400 winter bobber project and new to forum PICS ADDED!

bcbobbers

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
Hey all I am new to the xs400 forum and was thrilled to find the site. I have already read many of the threads and have already learned a lot more about my bike.

Anyways I just recently purchased a 1981 xs400 in running condition for $200:D. My friend has an xs850 and we are both bobbering them out in my garage over the winter. So far I have bought some black drag bars, new oem grips (I like the look of these), a new chrome headlight with a visor.

As of deconstruction I have so far removed the rear fender, tail light, headlight, front and rear turn signals, the horn, the middle stand, seat, and some other accessories and parts like the side covers. I also chopped the rear frame about a half foot all the way up to the springs. Pictures will be up as soon as I get off work...

I have a black solo seat that I made and just recently got that on. I will soon take off the air boxes and replacing the filters with pods and thinking of replacing the mufflers with glasspacks and wrap em with black exhaust wrap.

Sorry so long, but what you guys think and hey to all xs400 members as I am new to the forum.:thumbsup:

Attachments

• DSCN0256.jpg
    DSCN0256.jpg
    287.9 KB · Views: 361
  • DSCN0258.jpg
    DSCN0258.jpg
    291 KB · Views: 330
  • DSCN0255.jpg
    DSCN0255.jpg
    281.6 KB · Views: 347
  • DSCN0257.jpg
    DSCN0257.jpg
    285 KB · Views: 307
  • DSCN0259.jpg
    DSCN0259.jpg
    297.4 KB · Views: 339
  • DSCN0260.jpg
    DSCN0260.jpg
    290.5 KB · Views: 302
  • DSCN0261.jpg
    DSCN0261.jpg
    269.7 KB · Views: 309
Last edited:
Welcome to the forums!!! Sounds like you are off to a good start. Are you getting the hardtail somewhere or are you going to fabricate it yourself?