Anyone with straightpipe+baffle experience??

thielb

maxim
Reaction score
Driving an 82 xs400j maxim. Stock exhaust is still on and I am not a fan. However I am a student so I cant afford to buy nice exhaust for the bike so I'm leaning towards the cheapo route: straightpipes. I've been reading other threads on pipes but I cannot find any discussion of throwing these on.

http://www.lowbrowcustoms.com/p1329/buy/m-c-parts/exhaust/universal/emgo-baffles-for-1-3-4-quot-exhaust-pipes-universal/

I'm just looking for some advice on if these actually do the trick for a wee bit o' backpressure and maybe lower volume? I guess the loudness isn't an important factor, I'd just like to know if these actually help with the backpressure/tuning. I really hope so because I'd be looking at a pretty cheap exhaust job then.

All part of a pods+jets+exhaust upgrade. Would really appreciate some wisdom on the baffles before I go and buy something that does nothing for me. Thanks guys

If your stock system is not broken I would just leave it alone. The bike will perform its best with it. Going to strait pipes with those kind of baffles will only make it louder and not perform better, plus all the headaches with the carb jetting. Save you time and money and get a nice aftermarket set when you can afford it.:thumbsup: But its your bike and thats just my 2 cents:wink2:

^ I should've done that, but in haste, I chopped off my mufflers with a cutting wheel. So now i'm forced to rock straight pipes or toss some mufflers on there.
So, I'm curious if these will work well. I bought some washers to try to weld up some of those butterfly baffles you put in... we'll see how that goes.