Henkie's yamaha xs360c A quick hello and trouble in motorcycle paradise

henkie22222

xs 360 owner
Reaction score
Hello everybody from xs400.com,
I am Henkie from Holland. I bought an xs 360c a couple of weeks ago because im turning 18 soon and I really like motorcycles and would lover to ride a proper bike. I have some experience riding on and tinkering with my Yamaha fs1 from 1978. But a 360cc four-stroke beats a 50cc two-stroke any day of the month ofcourse. Even if the 2 stroke has been modified like mine :D (top speed is just below 90km/h wich is double the speed the law allows me to go :bike:)

However I bought the xs 360 in non-working condition hoping i would just clean the carbs, set the valves corectly maybe do a bit of carb jetting and set the ignition. So far these things haven't worked out quite the way I wanted them to.

I cleaned the carbs with some household vinegar (very strong) and then used some brake cleaner to get rid of the real nasty bits (works like a charm)
I never did any valve adjustments before because i have only owned 2 stroke, so i did exactly what the workshop manual told me to do. Same with the ignition.

In the end this all resulted in a bike that is very hard to start, it will only start once then shut off and wont start again untill a couple of mins. later (fuel flow to carb?)
It doesnt idle, it will emediatly shut itself down when below 2000rpm.
And every once in a while you hear a loud poof from the carburateurs.

Help in the form of advice on what to do would be appreciated.

Attachments

• xs360c.jpg
    xs360c.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 197
welcome! I think I have finally started to gather this from reading enough and doing it a few times myself... if you think the carbs are clean and you have only tried once... the probably need another cleaning. =( You may need to adjust the idle adjust screws, and if you took the carbs apart thoroughly you will probably need to re sync

KEEP US UPDATED!