Lifting an xs400

bcware

Well-read
Top Contributor
Reaction score
You all probably know that I am new to bikes in general. So, how does everyone lift their bike off the ground? How about raising just the front or rear wheel? Unfortunately my bike does not have a center stand; I guess the previous owner removed it and this puts me at quite a disadvantage.

It does not look like a traditional motorcycle jack from the store would work for me either because my headers hang slightly below the frame rails on both sides of the bike.

I have searched quite extensively over the past few days and found very few creative solutions to this problem. :shrug:

Currently I have 4 jack stands, one small car jack, and one large car jack at my disposal. I have read endless posts from people crying about lifting a bike with anything but a proper motorcycle jack whenever someone suggests something like this. Is this how everyone is actually doing it?

Well car jacks usually only lift from one point, if its in the center of gravity (left to right) and on level ground it should not tip over.
Cause im cheap i would probably lift it with car jack then lower it on blocks of wood. I would never leave it on the car jack for extended period of time tho.

I am going to do some experimenting; I will make sure to post pictures if I figure something out that works well. If anyone else has suggestions throw them out there! Someone else will definitely be looking for this information at some point.