My xs400

Kingjetpack

Weld every damn day
Reaction score
So this my first time posting and here's my experience...
Changing turn signals
Oil change
Replaced chain and front sprocket
Installed aftermarket mufflers LOUD!
I'm not very experienced in this world and I'm here to learn how to do things and rat out my bike.
I've got my ideas on hardtail
On a budget and I've seen the strut removed and replaced with tubing, this route is where I think I'm going... I'm excited to make a spring seat
I also want to go with a foot clutch and hand shift
Other than that...I'm just kinda wingin it
Last year I painted red and black with plastidip, it was fun and frustrating in the cold
Well any general help on where I'm going to tune and trick out my bike in my own garage?

Does it run?
If not, before you try to start it, drain any and all old gas out. Ideally, take the tank off and flush out the interior with some fresh gas. Then buy and install a $3 in-line fuel filter before running it.

Avoid ethanol gas. 91 grade from Shell, ESSO, UltraMar = :thumbsup: ... Husky, Pioneer, Sunoco = :thumbsdown:

Then, just don't over-torque and break anything.

Here's a great place to start - well worth reading before you jump ahead in your excitement and end up simply creating avoidable, owner-inflected maintenance opportunities - http://www.xs400.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10595

She runs, I've had her for the past 3 years and last winter with the change in colour just got me eager to do lots of custom work, I have a fuel filter, change it whenever it starts to look grimey...so any tips on hardtail?
Like I've read another user had replaced the strut with square tube...I removed my strut and checked it out, looks pretty simple, I'm grabbing some tube from work on Monday, any things I wanna kno before putting the tube in there?

After changing up the mufflers, I'm experiencing some backfires when using engine brakes