New here, gonna be around.

Noodles

Noodles racing
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals, I am looking to build myself a little cafe racer type ripper outta a xs 400 special I'm buying off C.L. just wondering how tough it is to get parts for this bike and what will fit for new age stuff with minor modification. I am a crafty fabricator with a machinist in my corner so I'm not too worried about making whatever I come up with work. What can you do to squeeze every bit of power out of these engines? I will be around so I'm sure a lot of my questions have already been discussed in the forum.

Welcome Noodles. I'm pretty new to the XS400 group, so I'm still learning as well, but parts are still reasonably available for the 400. There are even some parts from the 650 that are interchangeable. Things are a little tougher to find than say the CB550 or CB750's but they're still out there, I guess it all depends on what you need. Ebay is a great source for used stuff and hard pieces that are no longer sold from dealers. I can't speak much for US sites since I'm in Canada, but MikesXS.net has a decent selection of stuff.

Add on or "universal" stuff is what you find for these bikes for the most part. Real and necessary parts are hard to find. Crank bearings, cams, new carb bodies, oversize pistons and rings at a reasonable price are long gone. Most major motor stuff really. Stuff can be found if you are willing to put $$$ up but that's it. As for performance, You will get the most overall power/torque out of a well tuned stock bike. I have run all kinds of pods and used free flowing 2-1 exhausts and 2-2 free flow exhaust, 2-2 77-79 stock exhaust and 80-82 exhaust with the cross over pipe. I have found the 80-82 exhaust pull the best over all rpm ranges.