Newbie trying to figure out charging issue

ebuzz67

XS400 Member
Reaction score
I'm not really a mechanic, but, just got 1977 xs400 cafe back from shop about month ago, had a starter (solenoid, clutch, etc.) installed along with a lithium 4 cell battery rated for 400cc. I noticed about every 4 days the light cluster is dim and it won't crank (solenoid clicks) so i put a trickle on it and away it goes for another few days, then same thing - put a multimeter on it and only pushing about v12.3 when running.....

I pulled off the regulator to increase voltage (found advice in forum) but no adjustment screw, so I just bent the piece of metal closer to the coil and get about v12.9 but nowhere near the 13-14 volts it should be.

Wadda you think? Have the alternator rebuilt? I'm seriously not that inclined to mess with anything else cause afraid of messing it up further...

or worse case scenario just throw the trickle on it every few days...

weird thing, today i checked voltage at idle and was showing between 12.9 - 13 volts but when I rev over 3-4K it fluctuates between 12.94 - 12.99

I spoke with my mechanic and he will investigate this weekend - my question: If it is showing between 12.9-13 is it charging the battery at all?

many thanks!!

well if your battery fully charged is under 12.94 then yes it's charging :p
It's supposed to show 14v+ when you rev 5,000 rpm so if it doesn't then I would say something isn't working right.