Please help! My '77 XS has ignition problems

77 XS360

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am a new member to this site but I have been trolling it for the past couple weeks. I am new to the XS community but not the motorcycle community, I have been riding motorcycle since I was 12. I recently bought a 1977 XS360 with 6,200 original miles on it for $600 (good deal or not?). The previous owner said that it either needs new ignition points or they need to be adjusted in order to run properly. I have watched a couple videos on Youtube about setting the timing but everything I do does not work. The PO also included a Piranha Ignition system that he said would fix the problem if I knew how to hook it up, which I don't. I have been tooling around on the bike as far as trying to set the points gap and timing but I still have not been able to get it running. I have a freshly charged battery and the spark plugs are getting spark so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. If anyone has any tips on how to get my bike running or how to install the Piranha Ignition system I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank You.
-Nolen

Attachments

• IMG_0663.jpg
    IMG_0663.jpg
    285.2 KB · Views: 386
maybe its a silly question - but have you clean your carbs - check the jets and if damaged - replace them.

Do you have electronic starter or manual one?

about piranha - I've found that they were sold 2 times or sth like that ;) (i mean company) so i believe this is a owner now: http://www.newtronic.co.uk/new/main.php/suppor - I don't see there Piranha one but maybe they renamed it?;) Try to write them a msg.

Cheers

EDIT: http://www.triumphspitfire.com/piranha.html - this is a 3 pages manual I believe - try to figure it out;)

EDIT #2: If nothing will change, maybe this is sth stupid like damaged tank's fuel tap?? Try to deliver fuel directly to your carbs - you will eliminate the problem I guess - if I'm wrong - please correct me anyone:)