Screw covering pilot jet?

Recreateme

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
I am new to this but when I opened my carbs up I easily found and replaced my main jet but found a screw screwed tightly into where my pilot jets should have been. I removed that screw and found both pilot jets stripped...

Anyone know what that screw was doing there? Is that normal and how should get these pilot jets out, or should I not bother since the screw is covering them anyway?

What's my next move here guys?

In case you were wondering, the bike fine before removing them, lean but it ran.

Last edited:
My advice is if it works, don't fix it.

The pilot jets are stripped, so probably if you attempt to remove them you'll only ruin them further. The screw covering them sounds unfamiliar to me, but if it worked before, leave it in. Poke through the jets with some very fine wire to remove any crud, but leave them in the carbs. Put everything back where it came from and hope it still runs well.

Adjust your mixture after setting the float height. Use the idle mixture screws to fine-tune the mix. Sync, and check the plugs after a few rides. Adjust the mix again if necessary.

The 77-79 carbs used a screw to cover the pilot jets:)

Attachments

• DSC02075.jpg
    DSC02075.jpg
    192.3 KB · Views: 422
  • DSC02076.jpg
    DSC02076.jpg
    161.9 KB · Views: 479
Yep thats its.

Can you tell me why they have a screw there? Is it blocking the jet, meaning i don't have to worry about replacing it ? haha

go clean those carbs chris, they look filthy

These are spare bodies I use for showing people where stuff goes. The carbs on my bikes are super clean:)

The pilot jets don't pull fuel from the hole. It pull from the brass tube I believe.

They don't pull from the hole, they pull from the tube... That leads me to believe that if these are stripped, and that bottom hole/tip of the jet covered by the screw is damaged, it shouldn't affect how the idle runs because it wasn't being used anyway ?