Total Newbie, Picking up my 81 XS400 on Saturday

dasfinc

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Let me start off by saying I got my M-class license like 2 years ago, and had a Suzuki 500ES for all of a month before having to get rid of it when I moved to an apartment.

I now live in a motorcycle friendly place, and wanted to get back onto a 'starter' bike and ran across an 81 XS400 at a dealer that they were reconditioning. I liked the style, and the price, so I shelled out for it, and will be picking it up on Saturday.

I believe is a Special (As it has the stepped seat?), and is black on black with the alloy wheels

NewBike_zps326481e1.jpg

They are replacing the front fork seals, both tires, and cleaning/checking the carbs and bearings, and doing an oil change

After poking around these boards, I also asked them to double check the clutch cable as it seems to be a fairly common issue.

Anything else I should keep an eye out for? any tips for all season riding (Gear and bike maintenance wise? I plan on being on this almost every day that its not completely dismal out here in the midwest (Northern IL).

Also, where should I pick up a cover for it as it will be outside during the winter.

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to our forum. That is a nice looking Special. It looks complete and correct. When you buy a cover, look for one that breathes, it will cost more but is much better than just a dust cover as some of the cheap ( read non breathable material) ones are called. Some cheap covers promote condensation.

Nice bike! How many miles are on it? If you don't mind me asking how much did the dealer want for it? BTW welcome:)

Hi and welcome to our forum. That is a nice looking Special. It looks complete and correct. When you buy a cover, look for one that breathes, it will cost more but is much better than just a dust cover as some of the cheap ( read non breathable material) ones are called. Some cheap covers promote condensation.