1981 Yamaha XS400 - New Member

AMPd

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Good morning,
Just picked up a 1981 Yamaha XS400. Im real excited to get this thing to where i want it.
Traded an old Jeep Cherokee I had sitting in my driveway for a couple years now with no future in sight.
Real excited about this bike, seems to have a lot of potential and runs so much better than I expected it to at this point.
Full disclosure, I have no idea where to begin with this bike. I am completely new to these machines, it my second bike and surely have no idea what I got myself into but I chose this bike really as a long term build, taking my time to learn about them and to get it where I want it.
That being said, im seeking expert advise on WHERE THE HELL TO BEGIN!
What do you all recommend I start with? Im sure i need to clean out the carb, clean up the wiring, maybe take a good look at the engine, just need some recommendations in order to get it moving.
Im attaching some photos of the starting product for you all and look forward to reading all your responses.
Thanks again!

Attachments

• IMG_0438.JPEG
    IMG_0438.JPEG
    123 KB · Views: 418
One question I have, and again please excuse my ignorance, is why this bike doesn't seem to have a master cylinder? Bike brakes okay but not as well and id like which is why I want to service the brakes before I move onto anything else on this build. Again, any responses are greatly appreciated.
Thanks again!

Attachments

• IMG_9207.jpg
    IMG_9207.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 364
  • IMG_9203.jpg
    IMG_9203.jpg
    63.8 KB · Views: 337
It has drum brakes. No hydraulics, no master cylinder, just cables.
Carb cleans are always good. Check wear levels on the drum brake shoes.

These brakes will work fine if they are setup correctly and are in good shape. The best thing you can do to keep it running well is to keep the stock air filter setup and stock exhaust!!