General questions - throttle assembly, electronics tray, etc.

Jon

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the XS400 forum after picking up a nice barn find - 1982 XS400SJ Heritage Special with about 7,500 miles on it (or 12,000km for me in Canada). After going to look at it, I knew I couldn't leave it, and so now I have a new cafe/scrambler project on my hands (see picture below). I was impressed to see that most of the chrome had virtually no rust or pitting, and the paint is actually in good shape too. I was also pleased that the Heritage Special still had the SOHC engine in it. I've almost completed the tear down over the last week, and as of now, it's down to a few final pieces - an engine in a frame on two wheels.

I know the rebuild process will take some time, and I've already found a few things that are going to need some TLC and replacement parts. This forum has been great so far for manuals and stuff, so thanks to the providers. I'm sure I'll likely have several questions along the way for you all, and I thought I'd ask a couple to get things rolling. I'm going to be making this bike kick start only, and I have a general idea of the look I'm going for.

1. Electronics tray list, what's inside? What basic components have most of you kept if kick start only? Have you gotten rid of safety relays for example, other things, etc? I'll be taking out the starter and the electronic ignition components, and going to a small 12v 2.6 ah battery. I need flashers and lights in Canada, but could I scrap the auto-cancelling unit for example?