Help! Bike won't start

RoughneckRico

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi guys and gals,

I have a 1984 XS400 that recently stopped starting. I'm no mechanic, but know how to use a wrench.

When I Press the Ignition button, all that I hear is a mechanical turning sound probably the starter. It sounds like the starter is turning fine, but it doesn't seem to be catching or starting the bike.

Anyone experience this problem and know how to fix this?

Simple things first....and I've done it, so not being smart:

Assuming the starter is spinning the engine fast enough (maybe you shouldn't assume)

1) Is there gas in the tank?
2) Is the petcock turned on?
3) Is the petcock working?

If all those things check out, spray starter fluid in the carbs and crank it, if it fires, you are not getting fuel. If it does not fire, chances are it is not getting spark

- then you have to chase down those issues, but first things first.

1) The tank is full
2) The petcock is on
3) Petcock is working

Friend of mine seems to think it might be my reduction gear? But he says he can'T tell unless he splits the engine.

With these bikes its generally the simplest things that go wrong. Most only rebuild the engine strictly because they're OCD. Pull the plugs and check for spark.

did you spray starter fluid into the air intake yet? Could just be dirty carbs. Pull your plugs see if theyre wet after you've tried to start

charge your battery also, sometimes it's just that

ive never heard about anyone having problems with reduction gears, but 99.9% of people on the forum have had dirty carbs

... When I Press the Ignition button, all that I hear is a mechanical turning sound probably the starter. It sounds like the starter is turning fine, but it doesn't seem to be catching or starting the bike ...
It sounded to me like you were describing a starter motor which turns but no longer connects to the engine.