XS360 Cafe Racer Project

Demetrius

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I registered to this forum yesterday, so I thought it'd be appropriate to introduce myself :)

My name is Dimitry and I'm from the Netherlands. About three months ago I picked up a cheap XS360 from an acquaintance of mine. I was told that the bike still ran when it got stored, but I haven't been able to test that since I didn't have a battery. I don't think it'll run, since it has been stored for at least 5 years...

My first intentions were to restore it to its original state, but that turned out to be way too expensive and it was supposed to be a budget project. So, eventually I decided it's going to be a cafe racer.

Since I bought the bike, I haven't worked on it too much yet. I moved places, live approx. 100 miles north now and the bike is still at my parents' place. You get the picture.

Also, this is my very first project. I have never modded a bike before, except for swapping out a different rear shock on my Suzuki Bandit.

Here are some pictures of how I got the bike and what I've done so far.

Day 1
This is how I got the bike. Covered in birdie poo, mud and I don't wanna know...
2rm0cgl.jpg

mv3v9d.jpg

After a bit of fun with the high pressure cleaner, this seemed to be underneath it all along.
293uj5y.jpg

2zsmcg6.jpg

Day 2
Started disassembling the bike. This process has taken most time of all since it has a lot of rust, bolts that wouldn't come off and many rotten things...
2zg6al0.jpg

14wzo00.jpg

Tried to rid the mufflers of rust, but eventually threw them out. Will but short ones instead.
6p6oev.jpg

Downpipes came with a surprise... Going to have to get new ones too as I threw out the old ones.
333fgyg.jpg

A few weeks later... I don't have a lot of time on my hands and haven't been at my parents' place for a while.
2m6aaoi.jpg

2d98cuv.jpg

10er335.jpg

I don't have any more recent pictures, but this is what happened since.