A big hello from a brand new XS owner

SteveK

Steve
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I just wanted to introduce myself to the members of a forum that I plan on spending a lot of time on. I just purchased a 1977 XS400D with 22k on it (with a rebuild at 20k) for $1400. It was in immaculate condition and I couldn't pass up the chance to finally work on an older bike and eventually turn it into a cafe racer.

I have been riding for about 4 years now, always on my 2001 Triumph Speed Triple. I'm new to older bikes and I've never owned anything with a carburetor AND a kick start... so I'm probably going to be asking for a lot of advice. I am really excited to learn though.

About me: I am a 25 year old law student that lives in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I would love to hear from anyone on here, especially people in the area.

Below are some pics of my latest acquisition, along with a pic of Lossa Engineering's SR500... a model for what I want my bike to look like.

-Steve

Attachments

• YamahaXS400-1-1.jpg
    YamahaXS400-1-1.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 311
  • YamahaXS400-2-1.jpg
    YamahaXS400-2-1.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 330
  • YamahaXS400-4-1.jpg
    YamahaXS400-4-1.jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 336
  • YamahaXS400-5-1-1.jpg
    YamahaXS400-5-1-1.jpg
    33.9 KB · Views: 324
  • Yamaha_SR500_Solus-1.jpg
    Yamaha_SR500_Solus-1.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 345
Welcome Steve.

The tank and tail section looks a lot like Benjie's work. http://benjiescaferacer.com/
You will get some feedback to leave that original beauty alone.
But hey,it's yours have fun!!! Fab work will be needed under the original yank along the top tube (s).

Keep us posted.

Haha, yea, she is in really good condition. Not a bit of rust on her and she runs like a champ. The idle was a bit low when I drove it home from picking it up, but that was an easy fix by just adjusting the idle screw.