BIKE NOT STARTING... Help! (Throttle and choke kill electric start)

Cornhusker

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so after getting my bike back from the shop two weeks ago, where it left running, it has decided not to start.
When I attempt to start the bike with my electric start, if I have the clutch out or if I give the bike throttle, my electric starter hits a dead spot and sounds like it's grinding against something.
I've taken the carbs out and cleaned them, but that has not done anything.

1. I'm wondering if my battery isn't getting enough power to the starter?
2. But why would it not work with the choke out?
3. Does that suggest something with the carbs? Perhaps maybe the jets are set wrong?

Here are some videos of the issue... for your viewing pleasure.

I'm not experienced enough to offer a suggestion based on experience, but if it weren't for the throttle affecting it I'd lean towards the starter clutch failing.

Is it the choke, clutch position, or throttle position that affects it most?
Is it just one of them that causes the issue?
Is the bike in neutral?

Edit: Oh yeah, why the jumpstart? Does the battery hold a charge? Do you have a separate battery charger?
Shouldn't need to have the car running at least.

Thanks for the responses guys.

BBS360 - I would agree with the starter clutch suggestion, but I have rebuilt the starterclutch (new caps, springs, etc.) and it didn't seem to do much good. I also replaced the entire starter thinking that may be the issue. No luck.
The throttle position seems to affect it the most. If I pull the throttle when I'm starting it, it immediately makes "the noise". On the other hand, sometimes I can get a few good cranks even with the choke out, but eventually it starts whirring.