Trying to find pistons for my xs 400 e (oh and hi I'm new here)

Shaun Chandler

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
First off I guess I should start by saying hello. I'm a new xs400 owner and first time bike owner. I just recently stumbled across an xs400e (well two of them) as well as two tx 500's (73 and 74 model years). It started off I was finding class projects for my grade 10 auto class and it ended up with me getting a bike. Didn't impress my wife at first but we are still together so all is good. I'm a welder fitter by trade and always wanted to build a bike so here is my chance. I moved quick right off and stripped it to nothing blasted everything and tore the engine down ( it was seized). I'm probably a couple weeks from a rolling chassis will snap some pics then if anyone is interested all I have right now are pics of parts as I was taking them off so I would have a reference.

What I'm looking for now is pistons, Its looking like I have to hone to atleast 1st oversize and I'm thining I may need pistons, I haven't removed the grime to mic them yet but I figure if I'm going this far might aswell do it right and replace the pistons. My question is where can I get pistons and rings for this bike, it seems abit hard to find them and what is out there is crazy expensive. I was wondering if another bike shared pistons so I could go with them instead.

Any input would be great, Thanks and I'll hopefully be posting now that I've signed up, I've been lurking around for a couple weeks now.

Shaun

Welcome! This site was a big help to me with my project.