1982 Seca Project Newb

ksqrly

XS400 Aficionado
Reaction score
Whats up everyone?
I am new to this blog and I recently purchased a 1982 xs 400 seca with dohc (dual overhead cams). I think I got this bike for a steal. I paid 300 and it runs...well kind of.

Battery
I picked it up today and jumped and it started right up, it . I popped it into first and it insantly died. I jumped it again and started it and kept it revved more this time and away I went. I made it a couple of miles and was really enjoying the new ride and then a came to a stop light and my bike slowly sputtered out and died. This kind of thing happened to me on my old bike and it turned out just to be a battery issue. Im not sure if this is the same problem can anyone shed some light???

Lights and guages
Also the front assembly with the speedo and tach and neutral light is big and bulky and ugly are these types of parts mostly universal? How hard is it to change these parts? What are the laws on turn signals, can I scrap those all together?

Upgrades
So the good news is that this bike walks all over my buddies xs400 that is a couple years older and only has sohc, but I love the idea of getting as much power as possible from a small engine. What are the best ways to get power gains from this bike not using a turbo or supercharger. Thank you.

Welcome the forum! Got any pics to share?

I'd suggest doing a search here for threads regarding carbs. Then you can start cleaning them, replacing diaphragms, and eventually get to jetting.

And clean the carbs, repeatedly!

Dave

Very aasy to replace the speedo and tach, got mine from mikesxs.net

http://www.mikesxs.net/product/03-0755.html

ended up bolting right onto the triple clamp, and both speedo and tach wire just screwed right in. Nice improvement, looks almost stock.