Machine shop/rebore questions

xscafe

XS400 Member
Reaction score
First off I want to see if there are any members on here who are machinists that can resleeve my engine. If not maybe a suggestion to a place I can ship. I was looking at L.A. Sleeve but I have no experience. My machinist won't do bike engines. (I've used him for car stuff).

Second I want to see what you guys think of what I'm planning on doing. I'm planning on running XS650 liners bored to 77/78mm and raptor 250 Pistons in 10.5:1 comp. (if the starter can turn that) I'm also planning on either regrinding the cam or using a "performance" one if I can find one. I also want to go a little bigger on the valves and put new springs on.

I've done a bunch of research on the piston sleeve combo but all I've seen so far is "it should work" but nothing about it being done. Will it work? I've yet to look too far into valve train.

Thanks

You will never fit a xs650 sleeve in a 400 block. If you want a 650 size motor get a 650 size bike.
http://www.xs400.com/threads/holy-grail-of-xs400-big-bore-pistons.9388/ Check out this thread.

I've seen that thread. That's where I got the idea for the raptor Pistons.

I saw this post where the guy talks about boring the cylinders bigger to take xs650 sleeves. He has other posts talking about bigger sleeves for big Pistons.

http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=9766.0

Also if you read the chart posted in the thread you quoted it says that xs650 liners can be used for 75-77mm bores.

Last edited:
Well much apologise. I guess I should have read past the first page. That forum is a little screwy on my phone and the next page button was missing.

That seems like a big step up for an engine that was built to be 250/360/400CCs. Id think something would be out of balance or at least, exposing a very big weak point in the engine which is almost always the rods.

Id probably try it anyways though ;)