Starting to fix up my bike.

infeliciter

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey yall. I just decided that I would finally fix up my XS400. i've had it for about 5 years and its been sitting in the open for 4 of those 5. I've finally got some time to work on it, so the first step is going to be fixing the wiring. when i last had it running it had some electrical issues. 2 owners ago (i bought from a friend for $200) thought he would redo the wiring and just did a terrible job. thinking about using this (found here on the site) to simplify and clean up.

View attachment 3856

I havent really worked on bikes much, so this will be a learning experience. Most of my background is with modding cars. especially airride and audio. hopefully this thing wont cost me too much to get going. i know that the motor is in great shape so it shouldn't. anyway i thank you all in advance for all the help and inspiration that you will/have given me. haha. (i'll post some pics of the heap that i got when i finally take some)

Thanks, hopefully this thing will be less of a headache then all of my other projects. haha.

Just be wary; that diagram is simplified to a great extent. There is a manual for download on the site or one of us can scan a diagram from another manual at your request.

Just be wary; that diagram is simplified to a great extent. There is a manual for download on the site or one of us can scan a diagram from another manual at your request.

Thanks, i downloaded a bunch. the wiring that i currently have is awful so i'm going to cut it to bare bones. it just needs to be able to run and not kill the battery anymore.

I used that diagram on my bobber. It is simple and basic. The only thing I changed is the signals, but I just created my own circuit for that. I also switched to a Dodge regulator instead of the original.
BTW, it really helps to have an original diagram also