Leaking oil?

classexa

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm a total newbie and recently bought a XS400. So I removed this cover and it's streaming out oil, I guess from the engine? Maybe this is normal?

21985329_937485133069467_2827054616481366016_n.jpg

The reason i removed it is the clutch didn't work so I was gonna check the cable, which worked. But I noticed it was leaking oil when I removed the screws on this one

Last edited:
You don't need to take off any covers that contain oil to check the clutch cable.
I can see in the very back of the photo that you already have the drive sprocket cover off.
That's the one that the clutch cable goes through and is adjusted at.

The actual clutch is on the other side of the motor. I'd start with the clutch adjustments at the handlebars and the adjustment screw in the drive sprocket cover before taking off the clutch cover.

The covers in the foreground are for the alternator and do allow oil out from the crankcase.

These are a wet clutch that uses the oil in the motor. So unless you drained the oil yes oil will come out and its normal.

Also clutch pack is on the other side of the motor also.

Ah thank you for the replies. The weird thing is, the clutch worked fine the last time I used it. So I was gonna start it up and drive after a long time of it standing still and now it didn't work. Maybe it has stood still too long? What could have happened without me doing anything?

I will check what you suggested